Month: September 2014

  • Laramie Enduro 2014 - riding with Paul

    I keep telling myself I need to keep blogging, but only the more epic stuff.  Well so  I'd planned to do the Laramie Enduro again this year.  Why you ask, Well, my brother Paul wanted to get into endurance racing and had thought that the Leadville 100 waw what he wanted to do.   As luck would have it, we didn't get into Leadville but Laramie was open and so he decided to cut his teeth on this one.    I'd promised him I'd Shepard him through this one and so once again I find myself at Laramie. IMG_20140726_072002670

    So we decided that we would not car camp as I had done in previous years, with the exception of the 1st year that I had done Laramie.  I'd never had a good night sleep while cramping for whatever reason.   At  least this year the nights sleep was good.   The drive up however was a bit slow as there was a lane on I 80 that was closed.   As a result we were a bit pressed for time and anyone that knows myself or my brother, well we sometimes cut times a bit close.  In this case  by the time we made it too the start line we had about 2 minutes to spare.  As we arrive the stater informs us that we are late and the 35 and 45+ racers had already left.   We got a good chuckle out of this as we informed the starter that we were over 50 and indeed not late.   There was lots of chatter which we could hear that went mostly like, "Those guys are over 50???"    Amusing that our own tribe didn't recognize us.
    In any case we park ourselves in about the 8th row and wait for the start line.

    I go to start my Garmin and I see that it wasn't charged,  Argghh  and so I wouldn't have a record of this one .. Oh well,   Bang and the gun goes off and we are off an running.  riders are charging pretty hard onto and up the  opening dirt road climb and so we just settle into a rhythm knowing that  going to hard was a waste of time due to all the bottle necks that will occur as soon as we hit the single track.    I think Paul was commenting on his  high HR to start the climb, but the effort was too great so it was all good.
    We enter the single track and it's a good time to recover from the minor effort.    It's somewhat nice to have people to keep us from going too fast at least for a little while.   We are settled and everyone is in a line and it's all good for now.   After a few miles we find ourselves using our brakes a bit too much and I can see the guy in front of us  doesn't have any skills and is holding us up.   He's got an ironman tattoo on his calf, a clear indication that he probably doesn't have skills so at our earliest convenience we get around him.

    We are out of the woods and onto the roadIMG_7387s and we don't have to worry about any traffic for a while.  It is here that I am starting to see the advantage the Paul's bike has, as it's rolling a lot better than my old ride.  I am beginning to think that I should have rented that Specialized MTB for  $75 as a  bike demo, or even taken Tyson upon his offer to lend me his bike.  Oh well, can't do anything about it now and I am sure that I will be fine.   It's  on this stretch that Dave Newman catches and passes us on his spankin new Jet 9 RDO.

    We motor on and there are some riders catching us and we are catching others.   I should mention that we are not going that hard, cause this is a long race and  this 1st  portion of the race is downhill and one could easily blow ones load early and have nothing for the 2nd half.  Up and down on the fireroads and I decide we should catch Dave N, and we do and we are flying down the fire roads.    I can see that I have to work a bit harder than Paul on that 29er but it's all good for now and there's no suffering yet.    It clear that in the loose sand the 29ers advantage and  my front end is squirrelly on some sections of the courses.... Argh.   Up and down on the fire roads some more and  we are sitting in behind some riders trying to take it easy and conserve.  It's seems like these guys don't have much of a clue as to how to ride together since as soon as some rider get rested from sitting in, they just take off and wind up just a bit in front of us, but going no faster.
    We get close to the 1st  aid station and we see Ignacio and he sits in with us until the 1st rest stop.   Dave N and his group don't stop at the 1st aid station and he is never to be seen again by us.   We get some food water etc. and probably spend too much time here, but it's a long day and Paul needs to get the experience etc.   I  always blow by this one  with only a grab of a gel or banana that the aid workers are holding out as I would go by.
    Off and running again and we are doing OK.  It's  a bit windy out and we are working together so as to conserve energy as was our plan.WP_20140726_17_40_43_Smart[1]   At this point the race is opened up and there are not bottlenecks and we are free to hold whatever pace.   I keep forgetting just how long this race is  even though I had pre-rode the course 2 weeks prior.     In the wooded sections I am seeing just how much faster Pauls bike is and  he keeps slowing down so that I don't get dropped.   He's climbing really well, which is impressive since he came from sea level.  Of course having a bike that's  5lbs lighter that mine and a body that's 5 lbs lighter doesn't hurt either.    Makes we wish that I had trained for this one ....
    Hmm, at mile 20 something, I got my 1st cramp which is much earlier than i had ever cramped before.  This was not a good sign, but since I'd  ridden 1/2 as much as I would had like to, due to work and life it's not too surprising.    Some Gu took care of that one, but that's not a good omen of things to come so I know I can't go any harder than I am, which really wasn't that hard.  I really like the course between aid stations 1 and 2.  It flows well and there's a good mix of everything.   On the small  ascents and rocky descents on  right before aid station too, it's even more apparent what Paul is capable of and for a short bit he is out of sight.  Oh well.  I could probably have stayed with him, but the price to pay would have been too high.  Eventually he comes back to me since the plan was to stay together.   It's all good though as  we are having a good time.
    I am happy to  be at Aid station 2 to get some food and recover  a bit.   We hang out there, maybe a bit too long, but it's good to get some food and stretch a bit.   The weather isWP_20140726_17_40_09_Smart[1] really nice and cool, and I am hoping to be able to bring it in the 2nd half of the race, but I feel some pressure to stay with Paul and I am hoping that I am not exerting too much effort too soon.
    We depart aid station 2 and those fire roads are welcome.  The bikes are rolling well and I am holding my own more/less except when it comes to the sandy spots where the sixer is squirrlly.   Yeah, I know,  I should have gotten a niner for this one, but I got what I got so I gotta deal with it.   Maybe if I win the lottery next year I'll by some blingity blinged out 29er and quit my job and have time to train....  Yeah I know, like my mother always used to say,  "I wishes were horses, then beggars would ride".... but I digress
    There's some sweet terrain out here and the flowy single track is really nice.   Paul is really in the groove on the sage brush section and he is walking away from me and he doesn't even know the course!  I'd like to blame it on the  29r he's riding, but I think he's a better technical rider than I am, and with the bike all I can do is watch him walk away from me.   I wonder what he could have done with out holding back!  Anyway while trying to follow him, my bike was acting weird, like I didn't have any fork, and low and behold the fork had blown out!   This made me really have to slow down as the geometry was busticated.  I'm glad that  Paul waited for me and we took it easy into the next aid station.  We are losing lots of time here but it's all I can do.  My arms are starting to hurt a bit cause this not having suspension really sucks,  Big time.
    Finally we made it to aid station 3 and I was asking the aid workers if anyone had a shock pump.   Well, they didn't but the guy next to me did and graciously offered it too me.  I wasn't sure if it was going to work, but I pumped it up and it held.  I put 30lbs more than was spec, but just in case it was going to loose air I figured too much was better than too little.   This was aIMG_7391 really long stop for us and with going to the lavatory we lost big time here, but I am just glad to have a fork that is at least extended.
    Once again we get to flow some nice terrain.  Life is more or less good and we are heading on.   This half of the course is the hilliest and I am hoping to have enough in the tan to be able to push on and not cramp.  Well, that was wishful thinking as I was cramping on and off, but gels and Endurolites are my friend and so I am in limp mode more or less.   I am starting to think that doing the long pre-ride 2 weeks prior was not a good idea, as I don't really think that I have fully recovered.  I felt much better that day and I was riding my Yeti 575 which is a slug and I just felt great on that day.  I think maybe I peaked too soon.   Could be that I didn't do the 40 in the fort race as I had done as part of my training which put some serious seasoning into my legs.... Oh well
    We are keeping a decent rhythm on the hills, but it's a bit windy at points  and this is where staying together with Paul is paying off.  He's pulling like a bull into the wind at points and doing the lion share.   It's good though.    I am totally getting tired though, but it's OK for now and  I am hoping that I don't totally blow up on the way back.    The fork isn't great on some of the rocky stuff and my arms are really getting pumped.  Paul's bike is working great and anytime there is tecWP_20140726_17_40_34_Smart[1]hnical stuff,  I've gotta tip toe through it and we looks lots of time.  I still have visions of 2 weeks ago riding the Yeti 575 and what a difference in handling.   I can only imagine what it would be like to be rolling the  big wheels.    Those last miles towards aid station 4 were mentally brutal and I was so  tired of pushing into the wind.  Thank goodness that Paul was there to pull for me.
    We get some good relief at the aid station and it felt good to be walking around.  At this point I don't really care how much time we are spending, only about trying to get some fuel and recover.   It's here that we run into Doug, whom I ridden with before on Gale's rides.   He joins us for our departure and we have provided motivation for him to keep going.   This next section is a nice mix of up and down and single track.    Paul and Doug and I ride together for a while, but Doug gets his 2nd wind after a bit and checks out after passing this woman who was kinda holding us a back a bit, not that we cared at this point.    This is some really fun riding, I just wish that there wasn't so much of it.   I find myself climbing some stuff that I shouldn't  but  I am tired and foolish and am remembering  what I road in the past when I was much more fit....   We are pushing pretty good as we head to the final aid station and actually pass a bunch of people who are  cheering us on.
    It seemed like forever until we got to the last aid station which was mWP_20140726_20_12_52_Smart[1]oved  a mile or so away than in previous years.   I was so disappointed when I had to keep riding to get to it.    At this aid station we hangout for a while and we see Bo, a 1st time single speed rider from back in the fort  He's spent!  and will not finish.     Paul and I gather ourselves for the final push up Headquarters hill etc.     This rocky climbing stuff is getting officially old and I am so ready to be done now.   Well, wouldn't ya know it starts to hail and it;s good for the 1st minute but it gets cold after a while.  The rocks are slippery and I am tired.   I remember riding so much more of this previously but all I can do is walk now.   Paul is patiently riding behind me and walks to keep me company.
    It seem like forever until we got to the top of that climb and now the dreaded rocky rooty section which wouldn't have been so bad if I had a fork that was working properly.  I had to go so slow in that section.   We are close to the end and I bid that Paul just go ahead, but he insisted that we ride together, saying something about, never leaving his wing-man or some such.   I think he's seen Top Gun too many times....   In any case we gingerly make our way through the woods, with my arms just about on fire from weariness and arm pump etc.    I was so happy once we got to that semi-technical descent as I knew the end was close and my IMG_7439suffering would end soon.
    Finally we make it to the smooth single track that will lead to the start finish.   I am leading down the the hill and moving pretty good.   Finally Paul takes off, flying by me to the finish and I didn't have the strength or will or desire to go with him.   I  stroll to the start finish with folks cheering me on.    I am so so so happy to be done.   Another epic event in the books.
    Will I do this one again?  I don't know, but if I do, it will be on a 29er! ;-)   In any case it was cool to do a race with my brother again, even though we weren't racing each other like in the old dayz.

    Special Thanks to Michael Roberts for the Race Photos and Marshaling/Volunteering at  this event!

    I am so not happy with  Xanga as far as getting my photos in lined properly.  Ugh............