February 29, 2004

  • Another Sunday has again arrived.  It’s going to be a high of only
    35 degrees so I am sure that kept a few folks away.  I arrive in
    the FC lot at about 8:00 and I find Paul already there and pedaling
    around to keep warm.   We continue to pedal while we
    wait.  At some point Paul mentions that he’s go 3 miles in already
    from just riding around the lot!    A few moments
    later a fellow in Yellow arrives!  It’s Peter.  Wonder if the
    Yellow Jacket is supposed to tell us something.   Anyway
    since there is a strong wind coming from the north we won’t go
    south.  Peter has some time constraints so we decide to do
    Masonville, and depending upon time will decide what more we want to do.

    We head down Horsetooth and  Paul is setting the pace.  I
    must admit that I am not really warmed up yet so this 18mph+ stuff
    isn’t all that comfortable to me.   I  guess since I was
    sitting in it wasn’t so bad, but since this is the 2nd week that Paul
    has set the warm-up pace this may we may be getting into a bad habit.
    “It’s like just cause the Pistons are ready to fire doesn’t mean the
    oil is well distributed yet.”   Nuff said about that until
    next week……

    Peter takes over the pace making and the high pace continues to the
    base of the foothills.  At this point it’s Peter, Me, and
    Paul.  As we just about reach the 1st hair pin on the 1st hogback
    I  decide I don’t want to keep this pace   and allow
    Paul to pull through and follow Peter.  To my surprise, Paul is
    able to stay with Peter! And they summit together about 75+ yards in
    front of me.  Guess that makes me the whipping boy!

    We regroup at the summit and continue with me in the lead.  It’s a
    nice tail wind and we are doing 25+ down the slight grade.  Peter
    does his pull and Paul takes the lead to the bottom and up the next
    grade.  Paul, misses a shift and I find myself half-wheeling him.
    Oh well might as well take the lead, and Peter comes with me. 
    Peter sets a good pace (“Did I mention that Peter is recovering from a
    brutal Friday ride”) and I am able to stay within 10 yards when he
    summits.  Paul is about 50 yards back.  We continue on to the
    descent.

    I catch Peter on the descent and he lets me by.  Peter is getting
    better at his descending but Kent has nothing to worry about
    yet!   Paul catches us as we soft pedal to the base of the
    last Hogback.  I take the lead and set a descent pace. Peter is
    quick to take the lead and I am unable to stay with him.  Peter
    reaches the park with about 50 yards between us and maybe another
    50  to Paul.  I must say that if Paul was riding as well as
    he was last time we did these he would have given Peter a run for his
    $$.   A chat with Paul later revealed that his 
    exercise induced asthma was acting up a  bit more this day for
    some reason. 

    We take in a short break while Paul adjusts his clothing since he was
    overheating.  A bit later we are onto the descent.  Paul
    takes the lead and I pass him.  Peter passes me shortly
    afterward.   I find Peters slipstream and am able to catch up
    to him.  Paul is a bit back but catches us quickly.  We are
    flying down the road and make the turn on to glade road.  The wind
    is our friend as we fly up that 1st little riser.  Peter of course
    takes the hill points and I get my second place. We are really cranking
    down glade at speeds upwards of 38 mph at times.  Life is
    good.   We decided to get some fuel and stop at the Conoco
    station where we take some shelter and checkout the sports illustrated
    swim suit issue.   After a brief bit we are off again.

    It’s cold outside after that stop.   Since Peter’s car is
    parked on College near the Nissan dealership we decide to take the
    flats back.  Heading  east on 34 we are greeted with a strong
    cross wind.  As we reach Wilson or Shields or whatever that 1st
    intersection we had North.   Dam, the wind is not our friend
    and we struggle to maintain even 15mph.

    The further North we get the stronger the winds.  We are really
    working hard when we are at the front.  It’s times like these that
    you wish for you closest 15 rider buddies to be with you, but with only
    the 3 of us this is not fun.  I believe Peter put it best in
    saying “The wind sucks!”.   Guess after his Friday experience
    he has had his fill.    We push and push and suffer and
    our speeds are dropping. At times it was hard to maintain 12 mph. 
    Peter, did a monster pull into the wind and up one of those hills at
    11+ mph.   At some point I notice that Paul is getting a flat
    rear tire. We stop, but since Peter has a deadline bids us
    adieu.  

    Since Paul has slime in his tires we decide to just pump it up and keep
    going.  While we are waiting, the local constabulary show up and
    asks if we are OK.  I go back and let them know that we are OK and
    they wish us well.  A few moments later we are back on the
    road.   “I sure do miss Peter”.  We make our way to
    Trilby and make the right onto it.   Nice, the crosswind is
    there but it gives us some respite from the suffering.  We pass
    Kent’s neighborhood and I was tempted to stop and get some hot
    chocolate. 

    We continue on until we reach Timberline and it’s time to suffer
    again.  Paul’s tire needs some air and we just pump it up again
    and continue.   The winds are getting stronger and I am
    really getting tired of this S^%t.   We make the right on
    Kechter and get the crosswind break.  North on Zeigler and I am
    ready for a cool down.  My legs are pretty tired and my right knee
    is a bit stiff and is complaining.  Finally we cross Harmony and
    make the 1st left into the English Ranch sub development to seek some
    shelter.   We wiggy wiggy through the neighborhood over to
    Horsetooth and  the FC high school.   We got in about 42
    miles and I don’t know what the avg was, I was just happy to be
    done! 

Comments (75)

  • Fantastic goods from you, man. I've be mindful your stuff prior to and you are just too excellent. I actually like what you have bought here, really like what you are saying and the best way during which you assert it. You're making it enjoyable and you still take care of to stay it sensible. I can't wait to learn far more from you. This is really a tremendous site.

  • Please let me know if you're looking for a writer for your weblog.
    You have some really good articles and I think
    I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off,
    I'd love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to
    mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Kudos!

  • Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I'm impressed!
    Extremely helppful information particularly the last part :) I care for such info
    a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

    • Thanks for the complement. I am just glad someone reads my drivel. :-)

  • I'm gone to say to my little brother, that he should also pay
    a visit this website on regular basis to take
    updated from most up-to-date information.

  • Hey! This posdt couldn't be written any better! Reaing through this post reminds mme
    of my good oold riom mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will foirward tis write-up to him. Faitly certain he will have a god read.
    Thanks for sharing!

  • Nice post. I waas checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely helpful info specifically the last part :
    ) I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain information for
    a ery long time. Thank you and ood luck.

  • I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.

    nonetheless, you coommand gget bought an shakiness over that you wish be delivering thee following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly
    the same nearly very often inside case you shield this
    hike.

  • Pretty nice post. I just stumbled pon your blog and wanted to say that I've really
    enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will bee
    subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  • This is very interesting, You're a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I've shared your siute in my social networks!

  • Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against
    hackers? I'm kinda paranoid about losing everything I've worked hard on. Any
    recommendations?

    • I don't know of any plugins that would prevent hackers... sorry

  • This design is steller! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost...HaHa!) Wonderful
    job. I really enjoyed what youu had to say, and more than that, how
    you presented it. Too cool!

  • I was very happy to discover this page. I wasnted to thank
    you for your time for this particfularly wonderful read!!
    I definitely appreciated ebery padt of it and i also have yoou
    saved as a favorite to look at new information on your web site.

  • Appreciating the time aand energy you putt into your site and detailed information you present.
    It's good too come afross a blog every once in a while that isn't the same outt of
    date rehashed information. Excellent read! I've saved your site and I'm adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

  • I love it when folks come together and share views.
    Great blog, keep it up!

  • It's appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it's time to
    be happy. I have read thijs poist and if I may I wish to recommend you few fascinating things or suggestions.
    Maybe you can wrute subsequent articles referring to this article.
    I wish tto learn more things about it!

  • Hi there, i read your blog occasionally
    and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam
    remarks? If so how do you prevent it, any plhgin or anything you can recommend?
    I gett so much lately it's driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

  • What's up to every one, the contents existing at this wweb
    site aare truly awesome for people experience,
    well, keep up the good work fellows.

  • Asking questions are truly good thing if you are not understanding anythning entirely,
    however thhis article gkves fastidious understanding even.

  • Heya this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG edotors or if you have
    to manually code with HTML. I'm starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how
    so I wanted to geet advice from someonbe with experience. Any help would be
    greatly appreciated!

  • Someone necessarily help to make significantly posts I might state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far?
    I surprised with the research you made to make this particular put
    up extraordinary. Magnificent activity!

  • Hi mates, its enormous piecce of writing concerning educationand fully explained, keep it up
    all the time.

  • Having read this I belkeved it was rather informative.

    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself spending waay too much time both reading
    and commenting. But sso what, it was still worthwhile!

  • My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net
    from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using WordPress on various websites forr about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard very good thijgs about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I caan transfer all my wordpress posts inhto it?
    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  • For most up-to-date news you have to pay a visit web and on world-wide-web
    I found this web page as a best website forr newest updates.

  • I've been exploring for a little for any high quality atticles or blog posts in this
    sort of are .Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upo this site.
    Reading this info So i'm glad to express that I
    have an incredibly just right uncaanny feeling I found out just what I needed.
    I so mudh definitely will make sure to don?t overlook this website and provides
    it a glance on a relentless basis.

  • I think the admin of this website is genuinely wrking hard in support of his site, because here every information is quality based
    material.

  • Awesome blog! Is your theme custom madse or did yyou download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yous with a few simple adjustements would really make myy blog shine.
    Please let mee know where you got your design. Bless you

  • Your method of telling the whole thing in this piece of
    writing is truly good, all be able to effortlessly understand it, Thanks a lot.

  • Hi! I'm at work browsing your blog from my new
    iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through yopur blog and look forward
    to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

  • Hi everyone, it's my first visit at this website, and paragraph is truly
    fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting such articles.

  • It's hard to find well-informed people in this particular topic, however,
    you sound like you know what you're talking about!
    Thanks

  • Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit mmy comment didn't appear.

    Grrrr... well I'm noot writing all that over again. Anyways, just
    wanted tto say wonderful blog!

  • Hi there, i read your blkg occasionally and i own a similar
    one and i was ust curious if you get a lott of spam feedback?
    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much ltely it's ddriving me insane soo
    any assistance is very much appreciated.

  • Yes! Finally someone writes about m88.

  • I like the valjable info you provide inn your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I will learn many new
    stuff right here! Best oof luck for the next!

  • Hi there! This article couldn't be written muych better!
    Looking through this poat reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I am going to forward this post to
    him. Fairly certain he'll have a very good read.

    I appreciate you for sharing!

  • Good day! I could have sworn I'vevisited your blog bevore but aftter looking at a few
    of the osts I realized it's new tto me. Anyhow, I'm definitely happy I found it and I'll
    bbe bookmarking it and checking back often!

  • What's up, I read your blog regularly. Your
    story-telling style is awesome, keep doing what you're doing!

  • Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and
    starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  • Great post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?

    I'd be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Appreciate it!

  • Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, as well as the content!

  • I read this paragraph fully about the difference of most up-to-date and preceding technologies, it's remarkable article.

  • I'm not sure why but this website is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end?
    I'll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  • Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the
    internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out
    the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take
    a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  • I'm not sure exactly why but this site is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end?
    I'll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  • Keep on working, great job!

  • Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and the rest of the site is also really good.

  • I've been surfing online more than three hours today, but
    I by no means discovered any interesting article like yours.
    It is beautiful value enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and
    bloggers made just right content material as you probably
    did, the net will probably be a lot more helpful than ever
    before.

  • Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is
    fantastic, let alone the content!

  • Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you, However I
    am experiencing issues with your RSS. I don't understand
    why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having
    the same RSS problems? Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  • Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I'm going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.

    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  • Woah! I'm really digging the template/theme of this website.

    It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's very hard to get that "perfect balance" between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say that you've done a superb job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Opera.

    Outstanding Blog!

  • Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I have
    really enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts.

    After all I will be subscribing on your feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

  • I'll right away grasp your rss feed as I can not to find your email
    subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any?
    Please permit me know so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  • I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did
    you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz answer back as I'm looking to design my own blog and would like
    to find out where u got this from. kudos

    • Thanks :-) . I just used the standard layout that Xanga provides when you use this blogging side.

  • I always spent my half an hour to read this web site's articles or reviews every day along with a mug of coffee.

  • Excellent web site you've got here.. It's hard to find high quality writing like yours these days.

    I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  • WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for overcoming fear of
    failure

  • When someone writes an post he/she maintains the plan of a user in his/her mind that how a user can be aware of it.
    So that's why this piece of writing is great. Thanks!

  • This is very fascinating, You're an overly professional blogger.

    I've joined your rss feed and sit up for in quest of extra of your fantastic post.
    Also, I've shared your web site in my social networks

  • Your method of telling everything in this piece of writing is
    truly nice, every one be capable of easily know it, Thanks
    a lot.

  • We stumbled over here different page and thought I might
    check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to exploring your web page again.

  • Hi, There's no doubt that your web site could be having browser
    compatibility issues. Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but
    when opening in I.E., it has some overlapping issues.

    I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that,
    fantastic blog!

  • Thanks :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment