February 23, 2004

  • Sunday has once again arrived.   I arrive in the lot at ~
    8:05 and find Paul and Glenn H. pedaling about.   We chat for
    a bit and are joined by Kent and Bruce! Bruce says he is thinking about
    doing Gales ride and after some discussion we agree.   

    Paul and I take the lead and it’s pretty apparent that Paul is feeling
    good.  Probably because he is already warmed up, but a good bit
    has to do with all of the commuting that he has been doing.  
    The warm-up pace was a wee bit to fast or at least on the high end, but
    it wasn’t unbearable.   I could feel my legs complaining
    after only a few miles.   It was good that we went down
    Timberline since it’s kinda down-hill and a good road to spin on.

    Heading up Trilby with Paul up front I decided to take it easy, and I
    let Paul, Kent and Glenn get a good gap on one of those little
    risers.   Bruce kept me company as we caught them at the
    intersection of 287.  On to Shields and I am starting to Warm up a
    bit more.  We are moving pretty well and will reach Gales
    soon.  I make a right instead of a left and we need to make a U
    turn.  We find Logan street and find ourselves a Gales place.

    Gale greets us warmly and makes some introductions to the “Breakfast
    Club Boyz”.   At this point I feel kinda like “Robin Hood”
    and his band of Merry Men.   After all we do have at least
    one thing in common, and that is that we are both perceived by some as
    “Outlaws” by some.   There are about 8 or so of Gales crew
    including Glenn A. (This is the 1st time the Glenns have been in the
    same place at the same time).   After a  the last “potty
    call”  Gale gives us the plan and we are off to pick up the 
    Peloton  passe.

    We reach the Peloton and pick up a bunch of folks.  We now number
    20+ riders. This is a good size group and good practice for the
    boyz.  We take off and hit a few red lights.  We get gapped
    at one point and have to wait.  Glenn and Bruce were caught,
    so  some of us waited for them.  We easily caught up as there
    were plenty of lights on 34.

    So we are on 34 for a while.  I got a few thunbs up for the shark
    helmet cover that I was wearing.  I like the cover since it
    reminds us that we are doing this for fun sorta ala  Jaquelin
    Pelan (sp?) of  legend.   The group is fairly well
    mannerd and have a good time chatting.  Kent is next to Pam, a
    strong woman that he met at the Lee’s New Years day ride.   I
    am pretty much being quiet and talking things in.  My legs are
    still telling me that they aren’t up for any real hammering and I am
    happy that the pace is pretty easy so far.

    It was about at this time that  Glenn H and Bruce made a North
    turn since Glenn needed to be back early and Bruce was just looking to
    get in a few easy miles.  I guess they could have been considered
    on a “B” ride.   With that thought in mind, anyone who wants
    to show up and ride really should get out to the Sunday AM
    ride.   Staying at home isn’t gonna help you get any
    stronger.

    As time goes on a rotating paceline forms.  It was kinda ragged at
    first but then began to smooth out.   Now since a paceline is
    really meant to make life easy I was happy to hear the 1st time
    pacliner Kathy really enjoyed it!.  This is a sure sign that 
    it was working.  I have to admit it was nice to be in a large
    group since it made cruising along at 20+ quite a pleasure.
      Now, was everything perfect, no but there were enough
    folks that new what the deal was, that it kept things in
    order.   There was only 1 real no-no and that was one guy
    that would open a gap in the ascending line and then sprint to catch
    the wheel in front of him.   It wasn’t a real problem at
    these non-competitive speeds but could be real annoying if he continued
    to do that as the pace was “hotting up”, as Phil Liggett would
    say.    The other minor problems were from lack of
    practice, and not worth a mention here.

    It’s time to get off of 34 but  Gale makes a mistake and we take
    the wrong exit,  “My Bad” as she put it, but there is always
    another road, and the course was adjusted.   We finally make
    a turn to the North and the pace is getting warmer.  It feels good
    to stretch and I am sure that Kent and Paul are thinking the same. Kent
    does have a cold however, so Maybe not, but I would bet that he was.
     

    Now the pace is into the  mid 20’s and some are starting to fall
    off the back.  One young woman who went skiing or somesuch the day
    before is begging to crack.  I am kinda hungry so I am trying to
    get some food and find myself in the back.  Tis no mind, since I
    don’t think that the group is going to Warp anytime soon and 
    since Gale will look out for her peeps,  there are no worries.
     
    We reach an intersection and Paul is in need of dropping a few
    ounces.  I  figure that this is a good time to get the rest
    of my Sobe bar ingested.  Paul says that he will catch up, but I
    hang back cause, one never knows how fast the boyz and girlz will go
    and besides, a good chase is always fun.    Seems like our
    stop took a bit longer than we expected so we needed to “engage the
    warp engines”.  Paul takes the 1st pull and it’s pretty
    long,  I offer to pull but he says that he is alright.  We
    are making up good ground and it’s only a matter of time.  

    Paul decides to give me a turn up front and l am happy to help
    out.  My legs are feeling that dull ache of fatigue, but it’s been
    this way all day.  We are taking turns and see 2 of the 
    Peloton Cyclits, we shatl call them Team Specialized  up the
    road.  Seems like they either dropped something but in any case
    they were a welcome sight.  Now it’s the 4 of us chasing and life
    is good.  We weren’t very organized since Team Specialized guys
    would jump to the front when the pace dropped.  I am sitting in
    since, if they are feeling strong, let them work.   As we
    get closer, I go with one of the Team S guyz and we get a Gap on Paul
    and Team S #2.  Oh well,  I am sure that they will bridge,
    sooner or later.  I decide to jump around Team S  #1 and I
    bring us back into the fold. Yes!   Gale give us congrats on
    the well done chase.  A few minutes later Paul is on board.

    As the pace is “hotting up”  We drop a few riders and Gale and 1
    or two others drop back to help them.  I figure I’ll go back too,
    since I have just go done chasing and well, even though I was having
    fun, this is not always the case.   Anyway we regroup soon
    enough.  I think we are in Windsor now and we stop at a Gas
    Station for a break.  

    There is some light Banter. Eddie (Guy dressed for summer) compliments
    me on my bike frame.    It’s is nice I have to
    admit, and this is the 1st outing with my new carbon seatpost and
    Klingon Head tube decal, but no-one noticed those.  Kathy is
    surprised to still be with us and all are feeling good. After a short
    while the group decides what they want to do.  Kent decides to
    call it a day at this point.

    We head South again.  I remember this road where I was dropped on
    my 1st Oval ride.  As we head up that same grade, my legs are
    complaining again and I am too far back to participate in the little
    friendly skirmishes up the road.  I think Paul tried to get up
    there, but we were too far back.  The group comes together again
    and we are feeling good.

    We see this rider up the road, and It’s like putting meat in front of a
    hungry dog.  This time Paul and I are up with the leaders and
    having a bit of fun.  We are holding our own as the attacks
    come.  Eddie makes a jump to go catch the lone rider  and
    after a bit I decide to go after him, against the suggestions of my
    legs.  To my surprise I am able to catch Eddie and the Lone rider,
    who introduces himself to me as “Salvador”.

    The rest of the group catch up and pass us and looks like it’s go
    time.  Eddie once again attacks and I go with him.  The 2 of
    us have a  decent gap on the group!  My legs have no snap and
    I am really surprised to be out front with Eddie.   I make a
    surge but Eddie is right there.   I can hear Mr. Scott 
    hailign me.  “We can’t  keep this up or she’s gonna
    blow”.  I cry Uncle and Eddie takes it!   Eddie comments
    that he is impressed that I was in the small ring!  Too be honest,
    I didn’t have the legs for the Big ring! Otherwise I would have been
    there!   The spinning is good for me, “ I said” since my
    inclination is to push big gears and wear myself out.

    Paul catches up and we chat.  Seems like all of that chasing wore
    him out and he was unable to “engage”.   We decide that it’s
    time to head for home and turn about to head North.   It’s
    down hill for a bit so we get in a good spin. We chat a bit and I
    comment that he is not wearing his parachute that he worn last
    weekend.   Good to know that someone listens to what I
    say. 

    As we reach Ketcher, and prepare for the left turn, We see about 18 or
    so Bogies turn north in front of us.  It’s Jimmiy D and the Lee’s
    boys.  We decide to catch them.  Jimmy D give me a warm
    greeting and Invites us to join them as they are just starting
    out.  We much decline, but  It would have been fun.  I
    chat with, I think “Rob” of Team Lee’s about Gale for a
    bit.   That road is really bumpy!  Rob wants to see Gale
    and congratulate her on her recent appointment to the Olympic Committee
    or somesuch.    We finally reach Harmony and  Jimmy
    D and the boyz head for Tinmath and we head for the HS.  My legs
    are really complaining now, while climbing that grade in front of HP.

    We make it back the the HS.   About 60 miles for me avg speed
    about 18.2.  I decide to head down to stover for a bit of a longer
    cool down, so Paul and I head that way.  We part company at
    Swallow and I have a leisurely spin home.  Great ride, much
    different than the hills, the constant effort is a different kind of
    training that I need more of.