March 7, 2004

  • It’s Sunday and it’s supposed to be a really nice day.  I arrive
    at the FC HS at ~8:00 and to my surprise I see a yellow Jacket. Yep!
    It's Dave.  Turns out that he was able to get out for a ride and
    decided to return  the fold.  
    Shortly, we are joined
    by Kent and Glenn. H.  Hmmm, Not sure where Paul is today? Pehaps
    he did the Lee's ride on Saturday for a little bit of "Secret
    Training".   Anyway, we chat for a bit and decide to do the
    Centennial loop.  Dave has found a way to avoid 287 and so we are
    off.  Well, almost,  Dave found a Nalgeen bottle which he was
    gonna stash in the bushes. Well, Dave must have a knack for finding
    things, since there was a working Cell phone that had been dropped
    there. 

    So we are heading down Horsetooth.  The pace is easy and we catch
    up on what has been going on in the cycling community.  Dave and I
    are setting the pace as we make our way into the foothills.  This
    should be an easier ride since Dave, Kent haven’t been riding due to
    feeling a bit under the weather and Glenn has been doing some
    skiing.   Well, Glenn did mention that has started to get out
    in the mornings so I am sure that he will return to his spring fitness
    soon.

    We reach the base of the 1st hogback and I have the lead.  Figure
    I might as well set a good pace and take some “king of the hill
    pts”  while Peter and Paul are absent.   I was happy to
    see that my HR was pretty low for that  effort and I was able to
    Summint  1st.   Dave was close behind unti about 7/8’s
    of the way up followed by Kent and Glenn.  

    The wait is short and we go for the Centennial Hill.   
    Well I figure I will take this one too and assure myself the “title”
    for this week, and besides, when all area at full strength these small
    victories will be few and far between.   I get a good gap on
    the crew and figure I can cruise to the top.  Well, Low and
    behold, Kent comes up a ramming and a thumping  with about 150
    yards or so to go.  Well, I  engage the “Warp Engines” and he
    is easily dispatched.  Victory is mine, but  I do note an
    impressive effort by the ailing Kent.   

    We continue on and Glenn stops to adjust some clothing.  I wait
    with him and Dave goes up the road to let Kent know what’s going
    on.  We are back on the road shortly and rejoin Kent and
    Dave.  One more Hill and I figure I should hold on to this one
    too.  Dave is riding better now and  we aren’t too far
    apart.  Ya know it’s a lot easier to remember these details when
    you aren’t in the lead. 

    We make it to that final climb and Kent takes over for the
    Descent.  He hit 50 mph with lots of pedaling.  I hit 49.2
    just getting Aero!     Glenn was happy just to keep
    Kent in sight.   I sometimes wonder, since Glenn jumps off
    cliffs and stuff on his skis,  that he isn’t a more aggressive
    rider, but I guess everyone has their sport and strengths.

    It’s on to Binghamhill road and the the final Ascents.   Well
    to stamp some authority on this last ascent I take the lead.  I
    get a good gap, look back and it’s time to cruise.  Well,  I
    am close to the summint when Glenn comes up with a wicked
    sprint.   Hmmm, (Mental note, he’s gonna be tough when his
    legs return) and I am forced to answer with a sprint of my own. 
    He admits his HR was ~190 when he caught me so I was able to fend this
    one off and  assure myself of “King for a Day”.  
    There is one more little riser and  Kent and Glenn have a
    good  gap on Dave and I.   I see Kent and Glenn going
    for the summit and I try to take some more glory for myself (It is the
    Klingon way after all).  Well too little to late and  Kent
    summits 1st,  and I just nipped Glenn at the crest.  

    With the hills all done it’s off to the flats.  We make the left
    onto Overland Trail and continue Northward.  We are a well matched
    group at this point and the paceline is working well.  The
    transitions are really smooth as we stroll down the country
    roads.   Our pulls are probably a bit longer than they should
    be since I notice that the speed sometimes drop more than it
    should.  I know that everyone wants to do their turn at the front,
    but when you have 4 fairly well matched individuals it’s better to get
    off the front and share the load.  Also as a matter of getting
    faster, if that is one’s desire, it’s better to pulll harder and
    shorter, as this will assure you that you get a good workout and will
    help in preparation to join other faster groups.  If you can pull
    all day at  20 mph then step it up to 22 and take a shorter
    pull.  Nuff said about that……..

    We continue on for quite a while.  We stop a bit north of the Bud
    plant to get some food.   We chat a bit more about training,
    HR’ etc.   After a few minutes a loan rider approaches. 
    He’s got his areobars etc. and some really expensive mount,  
    We exchange pleasantries.

    We take off again Southward and life is good.  We see a “bogey” at
    11:00 and he makes the turn South in front of us.  Dave makes a
    nice pull and we reel him in.  It’s always nice to have someone to
    chase, since it gives one some extra  motivation, which on the
    flats is always welcome.  We continue, pedal pedal
    Pedal and I am surprised how strong Glenn is riding.  His pulls
    are very strong and I note that my once a week Sunday ride isn’t going
    to keep me in good enough shape for these rides to be comfortable as
    the season progresses.

    We make it down to Rt 14 and then 257 and make the right turn towards
    the wall.  We chat for a while and Kent points out that on the
    Hills today, that I did just what it took to take the summint.  I
    replied, well, from my “Drag Racing Days”  One might not want to
    let everyone know how much Horsepower you got!   Till ya need
    it.    There is one last hill which I figure I should
    take.  I get a gap look back and Kent who was there is replaced by
    Dave.  A bit more effort assures me the top but in doing so I can
    feel my legs begin to cramp.  Guess I don’t do any sprint training
    at all anymore since I don’t race and those little jumps really wear
    one down.   I figure it’s time to just spin as we head for
    home.

    Kent departs the group and it’s Dave,  Glenn and I.  We are
    heading North towards Ketcher and Dave has the lead and starts to ramp
    it up.  He gets a gap on the descent.  I am able to bridge
    and figure I will take up some of the pace making.   I sit up
    after a bit to check on Glenn and everyone is together.  We make
    the left onto Kechter and life is good, except my right Knee is
    starting to bother me.  After we cross 25 I figure it’s time for
    my cool down.  A nice 2 mile spin should be good.   Dave
    is up the road and head for home.   I  catch Glenn and
    we take it easy.  I think Glenn wanted to go faster, but I kept my
    pace below 16 since my goal was to cool down and give my knee a break.

    So the ride is over and a good time was had by all. ~ 50 miles at 16+ mph.