April 10, 2005

  • Sunday April 10th, Well  looks like I am gonna ride by
    myself.  I usually don't do a ride report if I am the only one
    riding, but maybe I will do a real short one.  Anyway here goes...

    So I really hate riding the trainer, so I figured I would brave the
    cold, wind and snow.  I checked the sign-in page and even the Ron
    as hard core as he is has been spoiled by the good weather and will
    take a pass on today.  

    So I get on my stuff and  head out.  The 1st mile wasn't too
    bad but I decided to put on my scarf cause the snow was blowing so hard
    it was stinging my face.  In hindsight I should have just turned
    back and gotten the full face helmet.  So I am pushing into the
    wind towards the trails and the legs feel good. 

    Finally to the spring creek trail and my scarf is now starting to get
    wet from snow and is useless.  My face is now unprotected! and the
    winds coming from the North are fierd and and painful.   In
    the trees now and there is some shelter but not much.  A bit later
    to my surprise I see a lone runner. A young woman and we exchange
    greetings.  A few seconds later there are 3 more women runnning
    together and for some reason ("Maybe it's the shark hat") give a really
    load and enthusiastic greeting!     This confirms I am not all that crazy for being out.

    I took the Pouder trail because of the better shelter, but after
    crossing Lemay find the trail is marked closed so I turn
    back.   Just as well as the snow is coming down harder and I
    can't even see the tracks I left but only a few minutes
    ago, not to mention my hands are getting cold and my tights are getting wet! ("not good").

    At least the wind is more at my back, but it's still painful when going
    purely  East.  Finally back to the roads and heading for
    home.  I see a few idiots driving without lights!  The snow
    is getting deeper, about 3 inches now and I am glad to be home. 
    The bike has ice all over it! looks pretty bad, and if I had been out
    much longer I am sure the gears would have been useless. ...  A
    good time was had by Me!  Sorry no pics this time.

Comments (1)

  • Man, I am so sorry for you but so impressed. I read your posting from last week and was pretty certain that you were describing a  ride in Colorado. I was sooo jealous. You are clearly a few levels above my riding skills but it sounded like you and your group have a great time, going hard. Then today I read you couldn't handle the trainer and headed out in the snow. Now I am convinced you ride in CO becuase the news stories are all about the storm hitting the state. I know the feeeling of being absolutely sick of riding the indoor trainer, and getting to the point where it does not matter what it is doing out there, you just have to go out. Winter was long and snowy here in CT. You can usually get a break in the weather and squeeze in a cold rideor two in Jan, Feb or Mar - but it was just too much snow. Finally last week I got to get out for some spring riding.  And I am sorry to say to you that for us spring finally showed up and it is a wonderful warm sunny weekend here. Rode yesterday and will sneak in a short ride later today after I get some chores outdoor chores done that have also been waiting for spring weather. Three inches of snow? I am in awe! You are my hero! Keep it up - spring is coming!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment