January 2, 2010

  • New Years Day ride

     
    The new year is here and time it's a good day to do a ride.  Chris posted a ride on the Random rides Velocal group and I wasn't sure I was going to do it but an email from Brian got me nudged in the right direction.  I meet Brian at his place and we also meet Jerry who just moved here from Arizona, and ride take the roads over to  Chris's place.   Brian was on his 9'r SS and  I was on my YSL.    I was going to  bring the SS but I put new tires on it that seemed to fit, but apparently expanded such that the rear one had it's nubs kissing my chain stays.... argh....

    The roads are covered with snow and all that and it's tricky at spots.   Jerry went down on one of the icy spots so after that I took as much sidewalk as I could find.   Brian's 9'r seemed quite at home on the streets, hmm, maybe it's time for me to get one of those ...

    We find Chris and his son Jax there waiting for the crew to arrive.  Riders trickled in and we had a  good # before it was time to depart.   Too many names for me to remember but there were 2  Dave's and 2 Mikes.   Folks were on all manner of beasts, included  9'rs, SS 6r's, commuters, 650B, old school Klein, New school Specialized etc. 

    The trek down the bike path was pleasant and civil and everyone was getting to know each other.  Several of the riders had just moved here from such places as Alaska, Arizona, Missouri.      I really didn't know most of the folks and some I had just met on the Grinch ride a week earlier.  

    So we make it to Pineridge and the trails look ride-able.  It was challenging to ride up to the ridge but most rode it.  After we crossed the ridge we decided to head towards Maxwell and take the Centennial over to where we could decide to descend Maxwell or just take the roads back.   The snow was bone jarring if one was on a rigid bike an pretty rough on me and my old school not so plush suspension. 

    Finally we make it too the road and decide to climb.   The Idea was to keep things Civil but of course some had to go hard and there were plenty of folks of various levels so that everyone had some company.   I was content to be near the rear cause, I didn't want to go hard and it's better to just observe and see the melee from a position of relative comfort.
      
    We make it to the rest area and it time to document the trip with some more photos.   After the photo session it was time to descend.  The group voted for Maxwell which concerned me due to the questionable tires that I had.  It was a fun descent,  icy in very few spots but I found most of it to be pretty sketchy!   I was soooo glad to finally make it down.

    We regroup and head over to the Bean Cyclery for some Java.    Nice place and it was very bike friendly.  Pretty cool atmosphere with folks kicking back and getting to know each other.    I had a Mocha 8 oz and it was quite tasty.  I'll have to come back some time and try some more of their offerings.
     
    After a bit folks had to split and everyone went their ways.  I road back with Chris and his sons.  Chris's wife was kind enough to bring Chris's youngest so that he could enjoy some two wheeling.    Nice mellow ride back to Chris's and a good time was had by all!  
     

Comments (1)

  • I just found your blog.  Thanks for the write up, Steve.  It was fun riding with you. Looking forward to more rides together.

    Mike - sgltrak 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment