September 20, 2009

  • No Rain, No Plan (Old Flowers road)

    It was good day to ride as the Temps were cool.  Unfortunately there was a chance of rain for the day, but I wasn't concerned as I had been wet before...  So  Dave and I meet Ron at his place as we had planned to carpool over to Stove Prairie. 

    We arrive there to find some folks already there.  These are some guyz that had done the ride last time and remembered the pace and decided to get there a bit early and get a head start on the group.  Funny how pain and suffering stick in the mind... 

    We make ready our steeds and wait for the others to arrive.  Soon,  Gale, Scott, Todd, Mike, Bob, Doug, Carl are all there.  I think there were 10 of us + 3 and I don't think I got all the names, so if anyone cares they can send me the names so that all can be counted for. Dave  posted some pics somewhere and when I find the link again I will post it.

    Todd has unveiled his spank new 29'r carbon fiber HT bike.  He graciously let me take a spin on it and  Man o Man is that thing sweet.  Wish I had more $$ and more room in my stable cause a 29'r something or other is high on my wish list. 

    Finally we are ready to roll and off we go after a few photos.   I am pleased that the pace is civil and that the whole group is actually riding together for the warm-up phase.  I am feeling pretty good despite a few hard rides last week and my goals are simply to have fun and to clean all of the climbs. With that in mind, my choice of bike was the 575 which pretty much insures a good time.   This of course meant no HR monitor so as not to have me focus on any of the training stuff.

    Life is good and the group does start to get a bit separated with Scott, Todd, Ron and Bob I think up ahead a few yards.  The rest of us are taking it easy, well as easy as possible when climbing.   It's been a good year for the group as many have had successes with there events.  This always helps make the ride more pleasant as no one has anything to prove.  Not saying that folks didn't get frisky at times and I am not saying I don't like that sort of thing on occasion.... but I digress  

    Somewhere on the way out Carl got a flat and Mike stayed with him. The group waited at the top of the Big climb and we all regrouped.   Yes I did manage to clean all of the hills to this point and I was already having fun, so my goals for the ride have been meet.   Now it was time to enjoy some descents, but I was still a bit tentative.   My tire pressures were a bit higher that usually and  I could feel the bike sliding around underneath me.  This was probably a good thing, since I can still feel that crack rib and I would rather not do anything foolish and injure my self again....  .

    We make it Pingree park and its time to decide what to do.  I suggested White Pine and surprisingly the group decided that they would have a go at it.   I had forgotten how long the climb was just to get to white pine and I decided to take it really easy and hang back with Doug.   Doug hadn't been riding as much, but he had done a couple of 100 mile Offload events in past years.  I was happy to take it easier since, the Big climb was coming!

    My bike started making some weird noises when coasting and descending fast somewhere on this ride.  It became really pronounces on that road to the ranger station.  Turns out as Dave suggested that my freehub needed to be lubed.    This was why my chain kept coming off!  This also meant I   could not shred the descents, since besides the hideous noise, I didn't want the chain to get wrapped around in some weird way and toss me to the ground.  Bummer, cause all that hard work could not be fully enjoyed. .
    .
    When I arrive at the ranger station the group was looking at the weather and trying to decide if they want to hurry back due to the look of the sky.     The sky didn't look that bad to me but others read things differently.   Gale decided that she didn't want to risk getting wet, and by the tone of her statement, I could tell there was no way she was going to change her mind.    At that point the group split with only Dave, Ron, Mike and myself going up White pine.    Dave was up the trail anyway and so we needed to go after him anyway so our path was already 
    chosen. 

    The climb was brutal was usual but I was feeling OK.  Ron was climbing really well and Mike and I were holding our own.   Ron made it the furthest with out making a dab, and I was next a distant next.    I did a lot more pushing on this one than I had in the past, but that was to be expected since last time I did this one I was in Leadville shape.

    Time to make the descent and the single trak is sweet.  This is by far my favorite part of the ride and well worth any suffering that had been endured so far.   I was still a bit tentative on stuff but I was able to ride 98% of it.  Ron descending really well here too.  Ron still has the Moab 24 hour race, so he needs to stay sharp and ride hard, but also be safe, and given what he was riding, seems to have an increased comfort level for some of this techy stuff.

    The rocky stuff was tons of fun for me, mostly due to the 575's  geometry that takes away that "Over the Bar" feeling that my Trek YSL's geometry produced.    There's just enough challenge here to get the excitement of technical riding without the fear of serious injury.  Hmm or maybe I just have a false sense of security about this. In any case the trail opens up in to some cool double trak descents, which I couldn't enjoy due to my freehub issues.

    At last we are back on Old Flowers road and we are not too far from the cars and there is no rain in sight.  Once again on the faster sections I was relegated to the back due to the freehub problems.  My chain kept coming off due to this also and really had been all day and this was getting annoying.    Hmm Wonder if I had tools to fix this on the trail?  Guess I will find out when I get around to fixing this. 

    Anyway I spend most of my time lagging the group until we made it back to the cars.   A good time was had by all, too bad the whole posse didn't come with us.

Comments (1)

  • It was difficult to find your website in google search results.
    I found it on 18 position, you should spread your posts to social websites , it will help you to get much more visitors.
    You can do it on autopilot, i know how to help you, just type in google - k2 seo tricks

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment