October 26, 2009

  • Chill Rides

    Guess it's been a while since I have written anything here about my rides.   Just for the record I am still riding, but not doing so much group stuff as I have burned out on road rides where I am suffering more than having fun.  It's all good and good for me when I am training for something, but when I am not it makes me not want to ride...

    So I have been doing mostly MTB rides lately  a good many of them solo or at least they start out that way. It was one particular Sunday when my legs were tired that I decided to take the 575 for an easy spin to renew the spirit.  I had a good time taking it easy down the bike path and ringing the bell. 

    By the time I had reached the end of the Spring Creek path I was still tired, but the sight of the dirt was refreshing.  Once the tires hit the single trak life was good.   I just love it when the tire pressure is just right and the pedals turn without forcing them.   I climbed to the top of the ridge and then on to a clockwise loop before hitting going over to Maxwell.

    The climb up Maxwell has changed a bit.  the lower part seems much rockier and more challenging to clean the whole climb.  There has been quite a bit of trail work recently and there are some neat rock formed water bar sections that are much friendly than some of the stuff that was there before hand.   As luck would have it the bike was working well that day and  I was able to clean the entire climb.

    I got some food at the parking lot and it was off to do the upper foothills trail.   I flowed that trail until I got to the road.  I saw another rider off in the distance and he was moving pretty good up the road.  I cross the dam and hit some of the hills on the road and I must say the 575 isn't the best climber on the road with soft tires. 

    Now I needed to decide whether to do Maxwell or do Lory.  I figured I would take the trail to Michaud and head down to the place where I either do Michaud or Lory.   When I got to the intersection I noticed that I had a flat tire.  Oh well, Ill just fix it and be on my way.  I had a spare tube with me but it was such a nice day I figured I would patch it and enjoy the day.

    While I was working on the bike the guy I saw up the road, all replete in his team kit and bike asked if I was OK and I replied that I was good.  He didn't even slow while asking, and took my word for it....    So I am relaxing and working on the bike when 3 riders happen upon me.  They stop and ask if I need anything and we chat for a bit while they hung out as I fixed the tire.  They introduced themselves as Kevin, Josh and Stacy and asked which way I was going.   I still hadn't made my mind up as to where I wanted to ride, but they said they were heading to Lory.  I figured that sounded good and asked if I could join them and off we went. 

    Down to the road  on that semi techy trail.  I followed as I watched my new found friends.   I dropped my saddle for this one but they flowed it without any adjustments.    I was behind Stacy and I should note that she had never seen that trail, but rode it like she had been doing it all her life.  Hmm,  I felt kinda like, maybe I didn't need to drop the saddle, and I really didn't but it's more fun for me that way...

    Now onto Lory and up the road.  Josh I should mention is riding a SS surly with 650B rubber!   A most unusual bike.   He was by far the fastest up the road while the rest of us did the best we could.

    Finally we made it up to Lory and the plan was to climb Timber. OK, I am a bit tired but I am good with it since this wasn't a hammerfest.   Josh pretty much climbed this one like it was a stroll in the park.  Man that guy can climb and he made it seem effortless.   The rest of us were pretty far back but close to each other with Stacy stopping to take pictures (Pics posted here are courtesy of her). 

    Up we go with Josh waiting at points for us to catch up.   We got to the Kimmel trail and it was time to descend.  It was starting to drizzel a bit and the rocks were getting slick.  Everyone was flowing it pretty well and life was good for me until I hit a rock and pinch flatted. Oh well.  Josh hung out while I made the repair. By now it was much colder and wetter and by the time we got to the bottom, Stacy who was waiting with Kevin was getting pretty chilled.  

    We decided to call it a day and head back.  Stacy was so cold that she decided to wait at the visitors center for Kevin to come back and pick her up.  I must admit it was cold out there, but I had planned for cold and possibly wet so I was good to go.   The descent to Centennial was brutal and I was surprised how well Kevin and Josh tolerated the cold. 

    We decided to take the road so Josh could ride and it was no surprise that he was easily 1st to the top.   At this point Kevin bailed for the trails and Josh and I headed South.  On the way back we did this trail I never had done before which took us to the bottom of the 1st dam.  That was really sketchy for me with the wet rocks, but Josh didn't have any issues.

    On to the road again where Josh too the Maxwell descent and I took the road.   I was getting pretty tired, and single track on wet rocks isn't so much fun when you get sloppy from fatigue.

    I took the road back which were pretty uneventful. Glad I did the ride and met  Kevin, Josh and Stacy. Turns out that Josh and Kevin are on the board for the Overland Trail MTB club.  If everyone is as friendly as they are I may have to look into joining that group...